3rd Convocation of NIPER-Ahmedabad 2015

Start Date: October 20, 2015
End Date: October 20, 2018
3rd Convocation of NIPER-Ahmedabad 2015

Event Detail:

Click here toView Gallery

3rd convocation of NIPER-A was organized on 19th October Monday 2015 at J.B. Auditorium of Ahemadabad Management Association Ahemadabad to award M.S (Pharm) degrees to the successful graduates of the year 2011-2013, 2012-2014 and 2013-2015.127 students were conferred with degrees during this program. Dr. Soumya Swaminathan Director General ICMR, Secretary Department health research graced the occasion as the Chief Guest of the ceremony. Dr. V.K. Subburaj, Secretary Department of Pharmaceuticals, Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers, Government of India & Chairman steering committee NIPER was President of the function. Respected Dr. M. Ariz Ahammed Joint secretary Department of Pharmaceuticals, Government of India was guest of honour for the ceremony. Besides number of dignitaries there were members from industry, steering committee members, directors from NIPER Hyderabad, Kolkata, family members of graduates, registrar, faculty members of NIPER-A were present at the ceremony.

Director NIPER-A gave floral welcome all the dignitaries in the board room on their arrival. Convocation started with academic procession which was headed by registrar holding flag of NIPER-A followed by chief guest Dr. Swaminathan, President Dr. V.K. Subburaj, Director NIPER-A Prof Kiran Kalia and guest of honour Dr. M. Ariz Ahmmad. The dignitaries were followed by all the faculty members and graduate students of NIPER-A. The tunes composed by Edward Elgar called Pomp and circumstance added flavor to the Academic Procession.

The ceremony started with opening song, ‘Sare Jahan se Achcha Hindustan Hamara’. The convocation ceremony was formally opened by Dr. V. K. Subburaj Chairman steering committee. Director NIPER-A Dr.Prof Kiran Kalia presented welcome address where she welcomes all the dignitaries on the dias and off the dias and acknowledged all of them for gracing the occasion. She briefly narrated the journey of NIPER-A and how it is consistently contributing in health care research industry. Followed by address director took permission from chairman steering committee for exhortation. Director NIPER-A gave pledge to the graduated students. After pledge chief guest of the function Dr. Swaminathan Director general ICMR presented gold medals to overall toppers and gold medals to department toppers. After gold medals book prizes were distributed by Secretary Dr. V.K. Subburaj and. Prof. Dr. Kiran Kalia Director NIPER-A from all batches. Followed by prize distribution chairman steering committee, President of convocation function, Dr. V.K.Subburaj addressed gathering where he congratulated all the successful graduates. In his address he mentioned, for sustainable and robust growth in Pharmaceutical sector, we need continuous supply of highly trained personals. Indian Pharmaceutical industry also needs to focus on innovation and invention in order to sustain and stay ahead in the vertical competition from global competitors. He also mentioned about role of department of pharmaceuticals in supporting and catalyzing the needs of pharmaceutical industry. After the President’s address, guest of honour Joint secretary Department of Pharmaceuticals Dr. M. Ariz Ahammed addressed gathering. After congratulating young graduates he mentioned that convocation is not just celebration, one need to really find deeper answer why are we here??He mentioned about the current statistics of pharma market which suggests that patents constitute less than 1% share which is indicating poor accessibility and availability of latest innovative medicines in non-communicable diseases like cancer due to affordability. He also mentioned how department of pharmaceuticals is formulating new roadmap for drug discovery and innovation inviting all Central Ministries and institutions through convergence and synergy.

Dr. Nagarajan Prof. Emeritus Neurosciences a special invitee of the function addressed gathering where he mentioned to the students one needs to lead intelligent life for which u need to be focused and attentive in your task.

Followed by addresses from all the dignitaries award of degrees to the students from various batches were conducted. This was followed by the Convocation Address of the Chief Guest Dr. Swaminathan Director general ICMR, where she mentioned despite many advances and overall growth in Indian economy, access to quality healthcare is still major challenge for government. Neglected tropical diseases like leprosy, tuberculosis, respiratory diseases are the major cause of improving the economic burden of health care system. An integrated approach is required to bring together all the stakeholders to collectively address all these challenges. A need of hour is for good, open and transparent mutually beneficial partnership between institutes like NIPER, IIT etc with government science agencies to support research and development.

Student representative Mr. Hemarsh Upadhyay 2011-13 batch extended vote of thanks on behalf of all graduates, where he mentioned how NIPER curriculum, teaching and course has brought the positive transformation in student’s life.

Dr. V.K. Subburaj chairman steering committee, declares the closing of the third convocation, followed by national anthem.

Batchwise group photo with all the dignitaries and with faculty members were clicked at the venue.

The program was followed by high tea.

Go to Navigation